Safety and Health Council of North Carolina


A non-profit association preventing injury through
safety education and training since 1960!

Defensive Driving Courses

click here to register on-line for these classes

Alive at 25 - 6 Hour Driving Class

(Yellow School) - Cost: $95 - Questions? call (704) 644-4201

The Alive@25 course is held on weekends at 2709 Water Ridge Parkway Ste 120, located in southwest Charlotte, North Carolina, near the Charlotte Douglas International Airport.

This program has also been approved by the Mecklenburg County Court System for eligible pending traffic infractions. Completion of the  Alive@25 Course of insurance points or premium surcharges on your insurance policy/and or points on your North Carolina driver’s license. To receive these benefits you must complete the course before your next court date. Please confirm benefits of a “Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC)” with your insurance company or attorney.

Demonstrations & Activities:

  • Impaired Driving/Drunk Goggles
  • DWI Checkpoints
  • What to do if you are in a collision
  • Multitasking
  • Are you a potential statistic
  • Preventable collision
  • What to do when you break down on the side of the road
  • The six driving conditions
  • Test

Class Times and Details:

  • 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • Doors open at 8:15 am and lock at 9:00 am
  • Late arrivals are not admitted
  • We have taken every precaution on cleaning and sterilizing rooms and material used in the classroom.
  • Face Mask is required!

Payment Options:

  • $95 per student excluding court costs if applicable
  • PRE-PAID and NON-REFUNDABLE
  • Debit Cards/Credit Cards accepted by telephone, website, or at our office (2709 Water Ridge Parkway, Suite 120, Charlotte, NC 28217).

4-Hour Defensive Driving Course

(Green School) - Cost: $75 - Questions? call (704) 644-4201 or (919) 719-9800 in Raleigh

This course offers an opportunity for drivers to receive a PJC eligible for traffic infractions like speeding and red light violations. Students learn essential defensive driving techniques that can reduce collision-related costs, injuries, and fatalities. The four sessions include:

  • Rules, Regulations, and Responsibilities
  • Driving Conditions
  • Unsafe Driving Behaviors
  • Aggressive Driving

Also available in SPANISH (Blue School) 4 hour defensive driving course

8-Hour Defensive Driving Course

Attitudinal Dynamics of Driving - $100
Questions? call (704) 644-4201 or (919) 719-9800 in Raleigh

This is a highly participatory class that assesses the individual's driving behavior, and then involves the students in developing an action plan to improve driving behavior and personal responsibility. A driver's behavior is a reflection of their attitude. Students are directed into understanding how their driving results from choices they make and that the responsibility of safe driving is their own. Appropriate violations for this course include:

  • Excessive Speeds
  • Passing a Stopped School Bus
  • Careless and Reckless Driving
  • Driving While License Revoked

8-Hour Spanish Defensive Driving Course

(Orange School) - Cost: $100
Questions? call (704) 644-4201

This is the Spanish version of the "Red School" program. However, instead of a literal translation of the 8-hour red school course from English to Spanish, this program is customized to specifically address Hispanic driving problems:

  • DWI
  • Poor Understanding of Basic Traffic Laws
  • Lack of Child Car Seat Use
  • Safety Belts

The "Orange School" emphasizes responsibility and choice, but reduces the reading and writing involved in the 8-hour DDC Attitudinal Dynamics of Driving, known as the "Red School".

Alive At 25 4 Hour Zoom Class

Questions? Call (919) 719-9800 in Raleigh

The good news is that the Wake County District Attorney recognizes the National Safety Council’s 4-hour Defensive Driving Course – Alive at 25 as an alternative to the traditional prosecution of speeding tickets and other traffic citations for young drivers under the age of 25. Choosing to complete one 4-hour course could be in your best interest to:

  • Avoid Insurance Points and a Premium Increase
  • Avoid Court Appearance
  • Avoid Points on your North Carolina Driver’s License

To receive these benefits, you must meet all requirements as described on the Safe Driving Program Flyer. The most common eligible violations for this program are:

  • SPEEDING in 40mph zone or more (up to 15mph over limit)
    Example: 70mph in 55mph zone
  • SPEEDING in 35mph zone or less (up to 20mph over limit)
    Example: 55mph in 35mph zone
  • SPEEDING in a School Zone
  • Stop Sign or Red Light Violation
  • Improper Turn
  • Unsafe Movement

click here to register on-line for these classes